

BOARD AGENDA ITEM: 6.2 –Budget Committee Meeting Minutes

DATE: July 12, 2016

BUDGET COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, April 26, 2016 The Dalles Campus – Board Room

ATTENDANCE:

Dr. Ernie Keller Arthur Babitz Will Norris
Lee Fairchild Karen Fairchild Tiffany Prince
Charleen Cobb Dan Ericksen Bill Bohn
Charlotte Arnold Jon Farquarson Lori Ufford

Stu Watson John Hutchison John Kasberger Dr. Frank Toda

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Charlotte Arnold called the meeting to order 6:01 pm.

2.0 WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

2.1 Elect Budget Committee Chair

Dr. Keller nominated Arthur Babitz as Budget Committee chair with Charleen Cobb providing a second to the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

2.2 Elect Budget Committee Vice-Chair

John Hutchison nominated Dan Ericksen as Budget Committee vice-chair, with a second to the motion from Charlotte Arnold. Motion passed unanimously.

Introductions

Dr. Toda, President, warmly welcomes the Budget Committee for the 2016-17 year and offers everyone to go around the table and provide a brief introduction of themselves.

2.3 Review Oregon Budget Law, Role of Budget Committee and Meeting Guidelines Will Norris, chief financial officer, reviewed the expectations for the budget meeting

and Oregon Budget Law.

Chair Babitz adjourned for a break at 6:17 pm. The meeting was resumed at 6:19 pm.

3.0 PRESENTATION OF PROPOSED BUDGET

3.1 Orientation to Budget Document

Will Norris reviewed the budget document with the committee.

3.2 2016-17 Budget Message

President Toda stated that this year it best made sense for the Chief Financial Officer to relay the President/Budget message. Will Norris continued to present the budget message and the executive overview of the budget.

3.3 Presentation of Proposed Budget

Will Norris provided presentation to the Budget Committee and helped to answer any questions that the committee posed.

4.0 PUBLIC COMMENT - PROPOSED BUDGET

Chair Babitz opened the floor for public comment at 8:03 pm regarding the 2016-17 proposed budget.

Public testimony was heard Bailey McManus, Columbia Gorge Community College student.

Chair Babitz closed the floor for public comment at 8:05 pm.

Chair Babitz adjourned for a break at 8:05 pm. The meeting was resumed at 8:13 pm.

Following the break the Budget Committee proceeded the revenue presentation and also reviewed the reserved policy that had been created in the previous year committees work.

5.0 MOTIONS

MOTION #1 - APPROVED

Charleen Cobb moved to **tentatively accept the revenue recommendation portion as presented**. Dan Ericksen seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

7.0 RECESS

The meeting was recessed at 9:04 pm to resume on Tuesday, May 3 at 6:00 pm.

BUDGET COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, May 3, 2016 Hood River Indian Creek Campus – Classroom 1.310

ATTENDANCE:

Dr. Ernie Keller	Charlotte Arnold	Arthur Babitz
Lee Fairchild	Stu Watson	Marilyn Wong
M.D. Van Valkenburgh	Dr. James Willcox	Karen Fairchild
Charleen Cobb	John Kasberger	Dan Ericksen

John HutchisonWill NorrisBill BohnDr. Frank TodaTiffany PrinceLori Ufford

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Chair Babitz called the meeting to order 6:02 pm.

2.0 PUBLIC COMMENT - PROPOSED BUDGET AND ACHIEVEMENT COMPACT

Chair Babitz opened the floor for public comment at 6:03 pm regarding the 2015-16 proposed budget.

Columbia Gorge Community College Computer Science Instructor Robert Surton provided input about his department and the computer science programs fees that were adopted at a previous Board of Education meeting.

Chair Babitz closed the floor for public comment at 6:06 pm.

3.0 BUDGET PRESENTATION

3.1 Enrollment Trends

Will Norris presented information to the committee about enrollment trends and the enrollment forecast.

3.2 Reserve Levels & Contingency Plans

Will Norris reviewed with the Budget Committee the reserve levels, contingency plans, and college policy 50.E that is related to reserve funds. The Committee also went through the individual department proposals and discussed some questions they had shared.

MOTION #1 - APPROVED

Karen Fairchild moved to modify the Budget to moving \$225 thousand into the facilities reserve fund and \$450 thousands into the operating reserve fund, net. John Hutchinson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Chair Babitz adjourned for a break at 7:16 pm. The meeting was resumed at 7:21 pm.

MOTION #2 - APPROVED

Lee Fairchild moved to recommend that the college conducts a more yearly systematic research on enrollment trends to develop a more robust model to predict enrollment. Charlotte Arnold seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

4.0 DELIBERATIONS/MOTIONS

MOTION #3 - APPROVED

1. John Hutchison moved to approve the **2016-17 budget** as presented or as modified. Charleen Cobb seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

MOTION #4 - APPROVED

1. Dan Ericksen moved to approve the permanent tax rate levy of \$0.2703 per \$1,000 for the General Fund for the 2016-17 fiscal year for the College district in Hood River and Wasco Counties. Stu Watson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

MOTION #5 - APPROVED

- 1. Stu Watson moved to approve the College district property tax levy in Hood River and Wasco Counties in the amount of \$1,511,025 for the Debt Service Fund District G.O. Bonds for the 2016-17 fiscal year. Dan Ericksen seconded. Motion passed unanimously.
- 5.0 OTHER
- 6.0 ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 8:28 pm.

As recorded by Tiffany Prince,
Director of Board and Executive Services