Nursing

CGCC Nursing Program Joins Oregon Consortium for Nursing Education (OCNE)

For Fall 2018, the Nursing Program at CGCC will transition to the statewide curriculum used by OCNE partner schools and the Oregon Health & Science University School of Nursing.

Beginning with the Fall 2018 entry application, students will need to meet the new OCNE pre-requisite requirements, which most students will require a year or more to complete. The application deadline for Fall 2018 entry is in February 2018 (see details in the Program Application). Students anticipating entry into the 2018 Nursing cohort and currently in the process of obtaining the Nursing Program pre-requisites should make an appointment with a CGCC advisor to have their transcripts evaluated for what courses will be required.

Nursing Admissions Information Sessions


Columbia Gorge Community College (CGCC) offers a career ladder program for individuals who want to become licensed practical nurses or registered nurses. After successfully completing the required credits of the first year of the Nursing program, you will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. Completion of this level qualifies you to apply to the Oregon State Board of Nursing to take the exam to become a licensed practical nurse (LPN).

An associate degree in nursing is earned after completion of the second year of coursework which qualifies you to apply to the Oregon State Board of Nursing to take the exam to become a registered nurse (RN).

Prerequisites

See current Nursing Application for details.

Classes

Course Name Credits
NRS 110 Foundations of Nursing – Health Promotion 9
NRS 111 Foundations of Nursing in Chronic Illness I 6
NRS 112 Foundations of Nursing in Acute Care I 6
NRS 221 Nursing in Chronic Illness II and End-of-Life Care 9
NRS 222 Nursing in Acute Care II and End-of-Life Care 9
NRS 224 Integrative Practicum 9
NRS 230 Clinical Pharmacology I 3
NRS 231 Clinical Pharmacology II 3
NRS 232 Pathophysiological Processes I 3
NRS 233 Pathophysiological Processes II 3
NUR 110 Nursing I: Fundamentals of Nursing 10
NUR 111 Nursing II: Care Across the Lifespan 10
NUR 112 Nursing III: Obstetrics & Chronic Healthcare 10
NUR 210 Nursing IV: Psychiatric & Complex Acute Care 9
NUR 211 Nursing V: Emergent Healthcare 9
NUR 212 Nursing VI: Preceptorship 9
Namesort descending Title Email Phone
Dawn Agidius Dawn Agidius Clinical Nursing Instructor dagidius@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6146
Mercedes Bolton Mercedes Bolton Nursing Instructor mbolton@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6148
Kathy Goe Nursing Clinical Instructor kgoe@cgcc.edu
Maureen Harter Maureen Harter Nursing Instructor mharter@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6145
Doris Jepson Doris Jepson Nursing Instructor/Director of Nursing and Health Occupations, Curriculum Committee Vice-Chair djepson@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6140
Gwen Johnston Gwen Johnston Nursing Instructor gjohnston@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6143
Angela Johnston Angela Jones Nursing & Health Occupations Administrative Assistant ajones@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Griselda Manzo De Garcia Griselda Manzo De Garcia Nursing Instructor ggarcia@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Gillian Nelson Headshot Gillian Nelson Clinical Nursing Instructor gnelson@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Kristi Ridgeway Nursing Faculty kridgeway@cgcc.edu
Lorie Saito Lorie Saito Nursing Instructor lsaito@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6146
Patricia Schluter Clinical Nursing Instructor pschluter@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Seri Schutt Seri Schutt Nursing Instructor sschutt@cgcc.edu
Jennifer Stager Jennifer Stager Nursing Instructor jstager@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6163
Jessica Webb Nursing Instructor jwebb@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Lori White Lori White Nursing Instructor lwhite@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141